TOBY Awards


The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) Award is one of the most prestigious and comprehensive programs of its kind in the commercial real estate industry. The objective of the TOBY awards is to recognize excellence in building management, operational efficiency, tenant retention, emergency planning and community impact. 

During the competitions, all facets of a building's operations are thoroughly evaluated. Buildings are judged on everything from community involvement and site management to environmental and "green" policies and procedures. 

Levels of Competition

The competition consists of three levels. The competition begins at the BOMA local association level, winning entries advance from there to the regional level and, finally, regional winners advance to the international level. The international TOBY Awards are presented at the BOMA International Conference in June.

Buildings may enter in the following categories: 

  • Earth Award
  • Under 100, 000 Square Feet  
  • 100,000 - 249,000 Square Feet
  • 250,000 - 499,000 Square Feet      
  • 500,000 - 1 Million Square Feet
  • Over 1 Million Square Feet    
  • Renovated Building
  • Historical Building  
  • Corporate Facility
  • Government Building  
  • Medical Office Building
  • Suburban Office Park - Mid- Rise (1-5 stories)               
  • Suburban Office Park - Mid- Rise (6-10 stories)
  • Industrial Office Park


To access a description of each category and for general rules, please see the BOMA International TOBY Entry Guidelines & Information  

2013  TOBY Local Award Winner Cushman & Wakfield | NorthMarq-Corporate Ridge II




 2012 TOBY Local Award Winner Block Real Estate Services-Renner Corporate Center. Pictured with BOMA Board President Jackie Older-Hefner (pictured right) and Mayor Sly James.